Community Development
Head Of Department Shri.Sandeep Malvi (Dy.Commissioner)
Telephone / Mobile Number +91-22-25331590, +91-22-25411053, +91-9769071314      Extension - 360/329/330
E-Mail ID
Activities of Department:
  • To implement development scheme for woman and child.
  • To implement Suvarn Jaynti Yojna for below poverty line people
  • To declare slum as per SRD act 1971
  • To implement slum redevelopment scheme (SRD) for slums
  • To implement students welfare scheme for Thane Municipal Corporation's school
  • To implement development scheme for Handicapped person
Department Details:
Officer Name Designation Contact No.
Mr. S. R. Patole Asst. Commissioner & Community Devlopment Officer +91-9969201660
Mr. D. N. Waghmare Dy. Community Devlopment Officer +91-9769073272
Mr. D. S. Gundap Dy. Community Devlopment Officer +91-9029920271
Smt. Varsha Dixit Special Executive Officer - Community Development Office : +91-22-25415501
Mob/Resi : +91-7045000871
Community Development Department is one of the wings under Thane Municipal corporation and works under The Municipal commissioner Thane. Regular function of the Community Development Department is based on Bombay provincial Municipal act 1949 .
Other Details:
Projects / Budgets:
Year 2012-13 proposed Budget for is 31,02,35,000/-
The scheme was introduced from 1st Dec, 1997 with a view of Poverty alleviation of B.P.L. families of urban area.
The B.P.L. families of urban area as decided by the Survey Conducted as per guidelines of the central Govt. are the beneficiaries under SJSRY scheme further planning commission have given benefits to the families whose monthly per person income is below Rs. 591.75/- .
Following are the salient features of this scheme :-
  • Self help groups: One women member from each B.P.L. family residing in slum area can be included in self help group. One SHG comprises of 5 women members. The self help group is given guidance in respect of savings, availing loon facility, its prompt repayment, etc. Each member of the group deposits certain amount in saving action. The SHG which has completed successful six month is provided with govt. assistance. Each SHG gets Rs. 10, 000/- as Revolving fund. During the process Each member of SHG develops trust within themselves. There are 65 SHGs established in thane municipal corporation area .
  • Women & Child Development groups: Women & Child dev. groups are called as DAWAKA groups. There are 39 DAWAKA groups in corporation area SHG which becomes capable & decides to select activity, then that group is called as DAWAKA groups. Nationalized and Schedule Banks provide loan to the SGHs for Business or activity of their choice. Each SHG receives 35% of the project cost or up to 3, 00, 000/- as subsidy. Training is given to SHG in respect of business or activity by the govt. There are support centers for the sale of products by SHGs. Municipal Corporation has provided facility for Daily services to these SHGs.
  • Community Development Society: Maximum Two thousand BPL families in one slum area come together to form community Development Society. The Society is monitored by Beneficiaries of slum area. These societies are registered with charitable commissioner. The Beneficiaries are selected by the society. The applications for loan are collected. The society keeps watch on the repayment of loan. The society gives complete information to all the members regarding schemes implemented by society information regarding other govt. schemes is also given to the beneficiaries. Personal health awareness ,
General Administration
Designation Nos Designation Nos Designation Nos
Deputy Municipal Commissioner 01 Community Development officer 01 Dy. Community Development officer 01
Supervisors 01 Project Director (S.J.S.R.Y.) 01 Community Organizer 01
Clerk 05 Steono 01 Drossman 01
© 2018 TMC. All Rights Reserved.
Designed & Powered by TMC IT Department